Stay Connected


Subscribe by Email

Fall out of Mc…and into your profession

September 28, 2012

Monmouth College will present four alumni awards and will also induct four alumni to the Hall of Fame at this year’s homecoming.

David Shawyer class of 1970 is to receive the “Distinguished Alumnus” award.  Shawyer graduated with a B.A. in Psychology and was a member of the senior scholastic society sigma Omicron Mu. After graduation, Shawyer achieved his Masters and Ph.D. while studying in the United States, Canada, and India.

Currently, Shawyer is the Director and Ex-Officio Member of the Board at the International School of Tanganyika and is the Vice President of the Association of International Schools in Africa (AISA), as well as the Executive Head of the International Schools of southern and eastern Africa (WASC).

James Dean St. Ledger will receive the “Distinguished Service” at this year’s Homecoming for accomplishing roughly 52 years of total employment. Ledger has worked as custodian, utility man, electrician, Supervisor/Superintendent of Building and Grounds, and the Wells Theater Scene Shop Lighting Supervisor. His wife, Nancy St. Ledger has also been an employee of the school since 1973 and currently works as an Academic Secretary.

Joanna L. Davison-Triebel will be receiving the “Young Alumnus” award this year as well. Davison-Triebel, class of 1999, graduated with a B.A in Business Administration and Communications & Theater Arts.  She is a member of the Kappa Kappa Gamma Sorority and currently works as the District Sales Manager for Glazo SmithKline Pharmaceuticals.

Following the family tradition, Monmouth will award this year’s “Family of the Year Award” to the McConnell Family.  A total of seven McConnell’s have attended Monmouth over the years, including:

Rev. Robert “Cam” McConnell class of 1972, his grandmother: Margaretta J. McConnell class of 1916, his grandfather: Dr. Harold H. McConnell class of 1916, his father: Dr. Harold H. McConnell Jr. class of 1943, his aunt: Frances M. McConnell class of 1944, his uncle: Rev. James G. McConnell class of 1946, and his stepson: Jeffery P. McConnell who is a former student of the college. Rev. McConnell has also resided on the college’s board of trustees since 1992.
This year’s Hall of Fame Inductees will include: Sherilyn Daniels-Yerly class of 1999; Paul Evans class of 1997; Kelly Kane class of 1970; and Kevin Matarelli class of 1995.

Jennell Oddo
Copy and Layout Editor

Be Sociable, Share!